THE RECIDIVIST MANIFESTO 4

*

the recidivist may also be wondering: “what will this mean for my writing exactly?

[honestly] I don’t know. I feel a headache clamping down when I wonder, how much more can I disrupt the syntax which is (we know) the dominant Texan megacapitalist culture’s crucial weapon? What have I not yet tried? Somehow I will dobisrobupt sobyntobax to a degree that says No to, and potentially terrifies, all the imperialist controllers…”

*

all this is important to the recidivist politic and it also has its roots in the Free Speech Movement.

*

the thirteenth tenet is a mantra: “I HATE SPEECH AND LANGUAGE”

*

The signified and signifier “friends, is boring. We must not say so.
After all, the sky flashes, the great sea yearns,
we ourselves flash and yearn,
and moreover my mother told me as a boy
(repeatedly) ‘Ever to confess you’re bored
means you have no

Inner Resources.’ I conclude now I have no
inner resources, because I am heavy bored.
Peoples bore me,
literature bores me, especially great literature,
[Non-recidivists] bores me, with his plights & gripes
as bad as achilles,

Who loves people and valiant art, which bores me.
And the tranquil hills, & gin, look like a drag
and somehow a dog
has taken itself & its tail considerably away
into mountains or sea or sky, leaving
behind: me, wag.”

*

the fourteenth tenet is that recidivists must cultivate an urban, zen “comma nature.”

and a recidivist must not discriminate against any punctuation mark or part of speech. in a recidivist text, all aspects of writing and speech and language are “allowed to have the play of their separate energies and can be allowed [to keep] their proper confusions.”

*

To let: A noun is a noun is a noun is a noun.

***********************

A LITTLE BIT MORE TO COME! FEEL FREE TO COMMENT, JOIN THE MOVEMENT, CHALLENGE or REVISE!!! peace

5 thoughts on “THE RECIDIVIST MANIFESTO 4

  1. the 14th tenet is

    and i like the word “play”

    and i like all the punctuation marks
    all the time

  2. I’m not sure I am in synch with your emphasis with nouns. I’d rather see “A sentence is a sentence is a sentence is a sentence.” I like verbs more than nouns.

  3. i consider everyone closet recidivists. i do consider lerner an engaging writer!

    ah, praise! come shower with me 😉

    francois, i like “a sentence is a sentence is a sentence is a sentence”…it’s as if after 30 years the sentence is re(a)d again….

    get it?

    thanks for commenting you two crazy recidivists!

Leave a Reply

