U.S. Militarism on Guam and the Poetic Disruptions of Commemoration

In addition to reading my poetry at UC Santa Cruz this thursday, I will also be facilitating a graduate and faculty workshop titled “U.S. Militarism on Guam and the Poetic Disruptions of Commemoration,” sponsored by The Asian Diasporas Research Cluster at the Institute for Humanities Research.

While I have done many university readings, class visits, writing workshops, and lectures, I’ve never done a colloquium-type academic workshop before that discusses my poetry in relation to academic scholarship.  Since folks at UCSC expressed interest in the relationship between militarism and literary/cultural production (apparently, there will be students from a graduate course on “War and Memory”), I chose these three essays to pair with my poems:

R. D. K. Herman’s “Inscribing empire: Guam and the War in the Pacific National Historical Park” (Political Geography 27, 2008: 630-651) with “from ta(la)ya” (in my first book);

Vicente Diaz’s “Deliberating ‘Liberation Day’: Identity, History, Memory, and War in Guam” (Perilous Memories: The Asia Pacific War(s), edited by T. Fujitani, Geoffrey White, and Lisa Yoneyama. Durham: Duke University Press, 155-180) with a poem titled “Juan Malo & Liberation Day” from my in-progress third book;

and Michael Lujan Bevacqua’s “The Exceptional Life and Death of a Chamorro Soldier: Tracing the Militarization of Desire in Guam, USA,” (in Militarized Currents: Toward a Decolonized Future in Asia and the Pacific, edited by Sestu Shigematsu and Keith L. Camacho, Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press, 2010) with a poem “from ta(la)ya [guma]”, also from my third book.

As if that wasn’t enough, I will open the colloquium with a 20-min (or so) presentation on the history of militarization on Guam and the role of literary resistance. Since I’ve been having bad luck with powerpoint, I am posting the pics and videos that accompany my presentation below.

I’m very excited to engage with scholars on militarism about my poetry (wish me luck!). Hopefully we will have an interesting discussion. If you are a professor and would like me to visit your school, feel free to contact me 🙂

~

“The Tip of America’s Military Spear in Asia

 

~

Spanish Militarization (1671-1898):

~

U.S. Naval Era Militarization (1898-1941):

Video of School Drill and Parade (via Guampedia & Vimeo)

~

Japanese Militarization (1941-44):


~

U.S. Post World War II Militarization (1944-2006)

~

U.S. Military Realignment & Buildup (2006-Present)

Buildup Website

We are Guahan website

~

Melvin Won Pat-Borja:

~

Kisha Borja-Quicho’cho’:

~

Save Pagat Rally:

 

~

Guam Humanities Council: “8,000 How Will It Change Our Lives”



Categories: .

Leave a Reply

